Flash Fiction Friday: Dark and Deep

Madison Woods provided another great writing prompt this week and I’m happy to present my latest 100 word story based on one of her photos. Details about entering Flash Fiction Friday can be found over here.

Kind of went for my very first instincts this time. It still went through quite a few drafts (hope that shows, or doesn’t…) but I’m happy with the final result. Please feel free to comment with your responses to it, I always read them and make an effort to go through and read everyone else’s by the end of each weekend.

Don’t forget to also check out Madison Wood’s entry for the prompt on her blog, right here!

Flash Fiction Friday, Sunset White Branches, Madison Woods, 100 word stories, horror stories
Sunset White Branches photo by Madison Woods

Dark and Deep

Branches raked my arms. The forest is unforgiving. Trembling in the dark, I come again upon a stone marked with ancient carving. I sink to my knees before it and pray to my god, or theirs, to release me. My shotgun long lost, the creature’s blood is still sticky and pungent on my hands and neck.  My stomach growls. I am so thirsty. Exhausted, I soon fell fast asleep beneath the stone’s deep blue shadow. Waking at the touch of a leathery paw. The moon is shrouded. Powerful reek of animal filled my nostrils. I have no breath to plead…

Earlier Flash Fiction Friday Entries:

Send in Mitsy

Cellar Wall

Bloody Jewels

Reading the Bones

Broken Mushroom

Flash Fiction Faction (Thursday challenge run by Quill Shiv) Entries

Aunt Edie’s Bunker

Clouded

Flash Fiction Friday: Dark and Deep

15 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday: Dark and Deep

  1. It feels very open to interpretation this week, which is something I really like in flash fiction.
    I wondered if the moon contributed to the pawing creature – a werewolf, perhaps? Or was it simply a friendly creature or an old dog (I took leathery to be the pads on the underside of the paw), worrying for the MC’s safety?
    Or it could be that whatever started the fight was here to finish the job…

    Head this-a-way for my effort this week:
    http://garybaileywriting.wordpress.com/2012/03/23/fridayfictioneers-crimson-sunset/

    Like

  2. Madison Woods says:

    I like the dark allusions in this. What kind of creature and how did the gun get lost? Questions you could use to turn this into a longer piece if you wanted. One crit, I think instead of saying ‘The forest is unforgiving’, it sounds better with the flow to say ‘Unforgiving forest.’ But of course that throws off word count if you were trying to stay on 100 exactly. You could add two expletives to make it up, lol.

    Like

  3. Lora Mitchell says:

    Hi Joanna: Another chilling one based on the prompt… Am I correct in believing you changed tense midway. You write in present tense then switched to past tense…example: ‘I soon fell fast asleep’ instead of: ‘I soon fall asleep’ .or maybe that is what you meant to do. . Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

